2017 Annual Report A report on financial year ending 30 June 2017


Our Board of Directors

Our skills-based board ensures good governance and oversees our ongoing focus on the delivery of sustainable outcomes with certainty and transparency. All of our Board Directors are members of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD), including the CEO as a non-executive Director. We model our governance practices on the advice provided in the AICD’s ‘Good Governance Principle and Guidance for NFP’s, which reflect the ‘ASX Corporate Governance Council’s Principles and Recommendations’. Our governance framework is supported by documented strategies, plans and policies.


Mariyon Slany – Chairperson
Mariyon is the Director of her Communications and Art consultancy and is a recognised Art Coordinator. Mariyon has both a Graduate Certificate in Law and post graduate Psychology qualifications. Mariyon has over 15 year’s governance experience on Boards including current roles on the DCA Peer Review Panel and the Mandurah Performing Arts Centre Board.

Dr Bruce Hegg – Deputy Chairperson
Dr Hegge is an experienced company director with a strong interest in the promotion of sustainable and effective environmental management through the application of sound principals of science. He strongly believes that long-term environmental sustainability is best facilitated through effective community and stakeholder engagement with appropriate knowledge sharing which fosters genuine ownership by local champions. He has a PhD in Geography, specialising in coastal environments.

Darrell Jones – Director
Darrell has over 25 years professional experience in finance, economics, marketing & communications, strategy, governance and leadership. He has extensive networks in his local community, as well as across business and State government.
Darrell is from a farming family and grew up in the Perth Hills area. He has a strong interest in the environment and sustainability, politics and finance. His qualifications include Bachelor of Economics (UWA), Graduate Certificate in Marketing (Monash) and Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment (Finsia).

Steve Vanstan – Director
Steve has extensive experience in corporate governance, strategy, risk management and finance. He sits on committees at Curtin University, Department of Agriculture & Food WA, Department of Parks & Wildlife, Perth Zoo and the Royal Perth Hospital. Steve holds a Bachelors Degree in Business (Mgt.).

Pasquale Cesare – Director
Pat is a consultant with more than 20 years experience in the mining industry. His skills include strategy development, risk management, options analysis, value proposition development and project management. Pat has a desire to contribute positively to the maintenance and improvement of the biodiversity, amenity and ‘livability’ of the greater Perth region. As a Board Director at Perth NRM, he feels he can make a real contribution along these lines, for current and future generations. Pat holds a Masters of Science (Mineral Economics) from Curtin University and is a member of the Geostatistical Association of Australia.

Meg Anklesaria – Director
Meg brings significant knowledge and understanding of the challenges facing natural resource management including climate change and population growth from 25+ years of working with the Water Corporation. Meg has substantial experience in corporate governance, risk management, strategic business planning and investment management. She has a degree majoring in Psychology (Queensland University), a Graduate Diploma in Business Systems and Design (Curtin University) and a post graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment (Securities Institute).

David Lucido – Director
David has developed and implemented practical growth strategies for market-leading companies for almost twenty years. He is internationally recognised for his ability to improve the competitiveness and financial performance of organisations, with demonstrated results in mature and contracting markets.
He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Commerce and is passionate about increasing the environmental awareness of corporates, and enhancing Perth NRM’s capacity to achieve its objectives.

Raechel Paris: Independent Chairperson, Nominations Committee
Raechel is an experienced Corporate Executive, General Manager and Company Secretary with diverse expertise gained in national and international organisations, including executive level experience in both the public and private sectors.
Raechel manages multi-disciplinary teams across Health and Safety, Environment and Heritage, Corporate and Government Affairs, Enterprise Risk, and Legal Services. She is recognised for clear and insightful leadership, and her expertise in strategic planning, risk management, corporate governance and stakeholder management.

Lorica Storey – Independent Chairperson, Audit Committee
With a keen interest in finance, compliance, governance and risk, Lorica has more than 10 years’ experience as a senior executive reporting to boards and various sub committees on financial, strategic planning and commercial management matters. She has held various finance roles in mining and resources, manufacturing and education and is currently a Director at Biolectric Pty Ltd.
Lorica is a Certified Practising Accountant and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She holds a Masters of Business Administration from Curtin Business School.